WFAE’s Joe O’Connor Elected to NPR Board of Directors
Published Monday, October 7, 2019

Charlotte, N.C. (Sept. 30, 2019) – WFAE President & CEO Joe O’Connor was recently elected to NPR’s Board of Directors for a three-year term. 

“It’s an honor to serve on the NPR Board,” said O’Connor. “I look forward to working with others who are as passionate about public broadcasting, its mission and audiences across the country as I am.”

The NPR Board of Directors is responsible for the governance of the nonprofit corporation. The Board consists of 23 members, 12 of whom are managers of NPR Member stations and are elected to the Board by their fellow Member stations, nine public directors are prominent members of the public selected by the Board and confirmed by NPR Member stations, the NPR Foundation Chair, and the NPR President & CEO.

“We are thrilled to have Joe O'Connor---station manager at WFAE, the leading radio voice in the greater Charlotte area--join the NPR board. Earlier in his career he won five Emmys as a television journalist and has now taken his talents to radio, which he affectionately calls ‘theater of the mind,’” said Paul Haaga, NPR Board chair. “He has grown WFAE significantly, informing and delighting Charlotte residents with both national programming from NPR and ‘Charlotte Talks,’ the premier local news talk show in the region. His insights and experience will be invaluable as we go forward with new leadership, new programming and increased cooperation between NPR and local stations.”  

O’Connor has worked at WFAE 90.7 FM since 2015. Prior to joining the station, he was the founding general manager at Rhode Island Public Radio. Before coming to public media, O’Connor was a producer for “ABC News Nightline,” where he received a Du-Pont-Columbia award for coverage of the Iraq War; shared in two Peabody Awards for coverage 9/11 and for Nightline’s two decades of excellence in journalism; and earned five Emmy’s during his 22-year career at ABC News. He was a Nieman Fellow at Harvard University in 2004-2005. In 2017, Leadership Charlotte named O’Connor “Newcomer of the Year.”

Show Other Stories